Website Path: Home > About > Honours & Awards

Honours & Awards

Saskatchewan's leading Professional Agrologists, Technical Agrologists, and supporters are recognized by the Institute annually.

Nominate a Worthy Candidate or Organization
Nominations for each of the five awards are made in confidence and must reach the office by February 28.  

Nomination Process

  1. Download a nomination form today: 
  2. Submit the following to by February 28
    • Completed nomination form above
    • Submit supporting letters of recommendation

2021 Award Winners

Elliott Hildebrand PAg
Outstanding Young Agrologist Award

As a professional agrologist, Elliott continues to further his knowledge to provide the best advice and course of action for his customers. He continues to learn to gain a deeper understanding on soil health as it relates to inputs of crop nutrients. Elliott is always ready to take on new objectives and challenges with an extreme amount of enthusiasm. His focus is to enhance and improve the services he delivers to all relevant stakeholders. His work ethic, honesty and sense of duty to the company, co-workers and clients is outstanding and matched only by few in the industry. As a volunteer, he served in a variety of roles on the SIA NW Branch including the Publicity and Communications Chair, Director of Branch Scholarships, and President. 

Blair McClinton PAg
Recognition Award

In the early years of his career, Blair worked as the Regional Soil Conservation Agrologist for the Saskatchewan Soil Conservation Association Inc. and in later years would fill the roles of Assistant Manager and Executive Manager. He dedicated himself to the promotion of conservation agriculture systems in Saskatchewan and beyond to the prairies of North America - in Saskatchewan, he is known as the “man who laid the foundations for zero-tillage”. As an avid volunteer, he was actively involved with the SIA and held a variety of roles with the Northwest Branch, Regina Branch and Provincial Council where he was President from 2017 to 2019.  Blair is currently the Farm Segment Director with SGI Canada in Regina.

Kevin Hursh PAg
Distinguished Agrologist Award

Kevin is an agrologist, journalist and farmer, and one of the country’s leading agricultural commentators. As the “trusted voice of agriculture,” he is the go-to media and communications expert. Annually, he is asked to speak, moderator, or host at scores of agricultural conferences and conventions across Western Canada. Kevin is proud to be an agrologist and has been registered with the Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists for more than 40 years. He set the bar for excellence in agricultural reporting across the nation and his hard work and dedication have won him many honours and awards over the years.


Richard Szwydky PAg
Distinguished Agrologist Award
(presented posthumously)

Early in his career, Richard worked as a Soil Conservation Agrologist with the Saskatchewan Soil Conservation Association, conducting numerous agronomic presentations and training events. He assisted in the development of soil conservation extension materials, programs, news publications and conducted research trials. In 2006 Rich was hired by the Saskatoon Co-op Agro Division where he continued to share his knowledge and expertise with local producers to ensure their farms were profitable and sustainable. He was integral in building the crop inputs business that we have come to know today which included a relocation of operations and expansion of facilities. Richard’s passion for Agriculture also extended to the family farm at Blaine Lake where he farmed until his unexpected passing in November 2020. His dedication, work ethic and knowledge, paired with his genuine kind-hearted nature is deeply missed by his family, colleagues, and customers.        

Murad Al-Katib
Honourary Life Membership 

Murad Al-Katib is the President, CEO, and Board member of AGT Food and Ingredients, one of the largest suppliers of value-added pulses, staple foods, and food ingredients in the world. The company buys lentils, peas, beans and chickpeas from farmers around their 40 plus facilities and ships products to over 120 countries around the globe. Thirteen of these facilities are located in Saskatchewan. Not only is Murad a savvy businessman, but he is also a passionate advocate of Canadian agriculture and speaks extensively on the opportunities and challenges facing Canada’s agriculture sector. AGT Food and Ingredients has strongly impacted the Saskatchewan economy and has elevated the agriculture brand in the province, in Canada, and around the world.

G-Mac's AgTeam
Agrology Excellence Award

At G-Mac’s AgTeam, they believe knowledge is key. Their team is on top of developments in the ag industry and shares this knowledge with producers through regular events. They are proud to be an independently owned crop production company that focuses on growth. This includes growing their knowledge, hiring qualified and skilled staff that include licensed agrologists, growing their customer base, and growing their communities. They are also proud to support the communities they serve. G-Mac’s staff is proud to volunteer and support organizations across their Western Saskatchewan trade area. These strong connections to the community help them thrive as a business. Over the past twenty years, G-Mac’s AgTeam has expanded to 14 locations.

Preview Previous Award Winners


#29, 1501 8th Street East
Saskatoon, SK S7H 5J6
306-242-2606 |